ART COMPETITION 2018 2018-04-19T12:59:21+00:00

The 2018 Competition: “Reflection”

The theme for the 2018 competition will be ‘Reflection’. The competition is open to any artist, in any medium including photography, sculpture, film, ceramics and design makers.

Prizes to include:                                                                                                                                                                   Lakeside in Winter by Norman Ackroyd RA

Main Prize £1000 – Sponsored by John Noott Contemporary Art

3D Prize £500 – Sponsored by Little Buckland Gallery

Local Artist’s Prize £500 – Sponsored by The Richard Hagen Gallery

Best 1st Time Entrant £500 – Sponsored by Hazlewoods

Visitor’s choice £500 worth of framing – Sponsored by Richard Christie Framemaker 

Gallery Representation

Artist in Residence

We are delighted to announce that the 2018 judging panel will be chaired by the eminent engraver and printmaker Norman Ackroyd, RA.

We hope to build on the reputation of the competition following the spectacular ‘Conflict’ Exhibition in 2016, with up to 200 of the entries being shown in a prestigious selling exhibition at Little Buckland Gallery throughout the 2018 Festival in June.

Registration is now open!

Download and complete the Registration Form or for any queries contact

Individuals can submit up to 4 entries for a fee of £10 per entry

The deadline for entries is 6th May 2018.

Entrants will be notified whether their piece/s have been selected for the final 200, that will also appear in the selling exhibition, by May 8th.

The handing in weekend is the 18 to 20th May.

Judging is to take place on the 24th May and the winners announced on the 25th May.

Download and print the Art Competition Poster and Leaflet.

Previous Art Competition

“The most thought provoking exhibition of works which stir the depths of the soul. Quite incredible the variety of interpretations in so many mediums on the same theme. So, so many truly gifted artists.”

The 2016 theme of ‘conflict’ produced some extremely powerful images, with 565 entries this was by far the most impressive event so far.

We were extremely privileged to have judges including Ken Howard and P J Crook. Ken Howard, Chair of the judges, said “If you win be pleased, if not the judges made a mistake.” PJ Crook was “hugely impressed by the high standard and diversity of both the 2D and 3D entries.”

2016 Winners

Broadway Arts Festival art competition past winner

Caroline Chappell – The Waking Path

The Broadway Arts Festival Prize of £1000, sponsored by John Noott Galleries, was won by Banbury artist Caroline Chappell for her acrylic & mixed media on canvas piece The Waking Path.

Broadway Arts Festival art competition past winner

Rod Ashman – Exposed to the Landscape

The Local Artist’s Prize, sponsored by The Richard Hagen Gallery, was won by Cheltenham based Rod Ashman for his mixed media on paper Exposed to the Landscape.

Broadway Arts Festival art competition past winner

Emma Clegg – Hope

The 3D Prize of £500, sponsored by Little Buckland Gallery, was won by Emma Clegg for her pottery based piece Hope.

Broadway Arts Festival art competition past winner

Peter Granville-Edmunds – ‘Why’

The ‘Visitors’ Choice’ prize of £250 of framing sponsored by Richard Christie Framemaker was won by Cheltenham artist Peter Granville-Edmunds with ‘Why’